Goodbye 2016!

Well, I can’t say that I’m not glad to see the back of 2016. For me, February was a particularly horrendous month. However, I got through it. How, eludes me!

March was better and so was April. There were trips to the Peloponnese and the Faris Hotel.

In March we went to Milos and stayed at Captain Zeppo’s boutique hotel. The weather was foul most of the four days we were there, but we did manage to see the whole island. It isn’t my favourite Cycladic island, but it does have a certain charm, and the hotel was wonderful.

We travelled a little further afield in autumn and went to Mytileni on the island of Lesbos in October. It was full of refugees and not many tourists.

We went to Mystras several times while we were in the Peloponnese and to the beach at Gythio. Then we found a really good taverna on a beach, with fish that were really fresh. We watched them being cleaned in the sea, shortly after they were landed.

I spent a lot of time in Plaka, as always, and was there on Christmas Day and New Year’s Eve. We ate at the Taverna Plaka, where I have been eating and drinking for more than 30 years now. This is close to the Hotel Acropolis House, where I saw a ghost.

So last night four of us ate at the Plaka Taverna in Kidathenaeion St. As it was New Year’s Eve, the wine and tsiporou flowed freely.  When we left, well after midnight, the most sober person handed me a jacket and said that it belonged to someone who had left earlier. Given that I thought the woman was sober, I didn’t look at the jacket.

When I got home, I realised that the jacket was a woman’s  clearly it didn’t belong to my friend. I inspected it more closely and discovered that it was a designer label jacket.

On new Year’s Day I phoned the taverna to tell them that the jacket was safe and we would take it back to the taverna that day or the next. Why I had to do it was beyond me, but it was easier than persuading the culprit to phone with an explanation. It’s a good thing they know me!

So that episode marked the end of 2016! I hope 2017 will be a better year for everyone!

Chronia polla! Happy New Year!

 

About lynnee8

I have travelled extensively both for business (I am a teacher and teacher-trainer of English as a Foreign Language) and pleasure. I have just come back from Pakistan where I lived for 4 years. I love Greece and have lived there for more than 10 years although not all at one time.
This entry was posted in eating and drinking, Greece, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

