My own Athenian Ghost Story (Part 2)

Hotel Acropolis House. Plaka Athens.Photo credit Nikos Kapsalis

You should really read Part 1 of this ghost story to understand it fully. The first part took place in Athens, at the Hotel Acropolis House, Kodrou 6, Plaka Athens. This part begins approximately ten years later, when I was back in South Wales.

I was working for the county council, doing outreach work in the community in Newport. I went to visit a company which trained teenagers to do certain manual jobs. The community was a multicultural one close to the docks. my friend managed the scheme, so I always enjoyed going to visit her.

This time, after I had had coffee and a chat, she asked me if I had met the South African guy who was working with her. I hadn’t, so she called him into her office and introduced us. I was stunned when I saw him, as he looked like my Athenian ghost.

Hotel Acropolis House, Plaka, Athens. Photo credit: Nikos Kapsalis.

Hotel Acropolis House, Plaka, Athens. Photo credit: Nikos Kapsalis.

I must have turned pale as he was concerned about me. I sat down and told him my ghost story. He was, to me, my ghost.

When I had finished my tale it was his turn to be amazed. He asked if I would wait while he went home to get some photographs. Of course I would!

When he came back, he was carrying a shoe box. It turned out to contain photographs, sepia as well as black and white.

His family had built the house which had become the Hotel Acropolis House. It was a family home, and my ghost had had several brothers. He was in the photos, and my new friend told me the story of how the family had moved to South Africa after he had committed suicide in the ballroom.

Hotel Acropolis House at night, Photo credit Nikos Kapsalis.

Hotel Acropolis House at night, Photo credit Nikos Kapsalis.

They grew even richer from gold and diamonds, although they lost most of the money because they were inveterate gamblers. My friend had left South Africa when he was young and had been a bank manager in Wales, after various adventures on the way.

It was very strange to meet my “ghost’ in the flesh. We became friends and slowly he told me more about his family, but not about my ghost, as he had never met him. He confessed, while looking at the photos that there was a striking resemblance between him and my ghost.

What a weird feeling though, to meet a ghost in the flesh. I wonder if anything like this has happened to anyone else.

About lynnee8

I have travelled extensively both for business (I am a teacher and teacher-trainer of English as a Foreign Language) and pleasure. I have just come back from Pakistan where I lived for 4 years. I love Greece and have lived there for more than 10 years although not all at one time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

