My favourite fish taverna near Corinth

The owner of Rouchounas FishTaverna near Corinth. Credit: Nikos Kapsalis

The owner of Rouchounas Fish Taverna near Corinth. Credit: Nikos Kapsalis

I have mentioned this taverna before, but here I go again! It is on the road to Epidauros from Corinth and you have to really look out for the turning to the Kalamaki Beach Hotel and Isthmia Camping. It is signposted, but you could easily miss it.

A truly traditional, rustic Greek taverna near Corinth: Credit Nikos Kapsalis

A truly traditional, rustic Greek taverna near Corinth: Credit Nikos Kapsalis

The taverna is called Rouchounas, which, I’m told means “drunkard” and that just about sums things up. The owner drinks tsipouro like a fish. This drink is even stronger that ouzo, but I have recently acquired a taste for it – at least the sort that isn’t aniseed-flavoured. Ouzo is a very Greek drink that many foreigners have stumbled upon, but tsipouro is less well-known. I believe, although I’m not sure, that some people make their own, but I could be wrong!

The remains of prawns and red mullet and not much ouzo!! Credit Nikos Kapsalis

The remains of prawns and red mullet and not much ouzo!! Credit Nikos Kapsalis

Rouchounas, as in the owner, not the taverna, makes his own wine which has a very distinctive taste. It is a brown-orange colour, rather as though sultanas had gone into its making.

20160909_163849

This is a fabulous place to eat fish and seafood. The best I have found in Greece so far. Luckily it’s only about an hour’s drive from Athens, and on the way to the Peloponnese, where I go quite often. We never pass this place, but stop off for sea bass, or it might be bream (tsipoura) and prawns or octopus. The octopus is a new find, and it is second only to one that I had in Oporto, Portugal.

Where the fish and sea food are coked on a grill over wood. Credit Nikos Kapsalis

Where the fish and sea food are coked on a grill over wood. Credit Nikos Kapsalis

Everything is cooked by the owner, pictured at the top of the post. He is quite a character and very entertaining. We were speaking about him the other evening, debating whether or not we have ever seen him eating. We haven’t, we concluded.

Car parking facilities and herbs right outside the taverna. Credit Nikos Kapsalis

Car parking facilities and herbs right outside the taverna. Credit Nikos Kapsalis

One night there was a stray dog roaming around outside the taverna, and we brought it back to Athens, where it is very happy in its new home. It had to be lifted into the taxi though, but once in , it was happy! That means that the owner of the taverna is pleased with us, as we took away a ‘nuisance’ for him, this is always a good thing!

I’m wondering when I’ll be able to go there again! hopefully soon!

About lynnee8

I have travelled extensively both for business (I am a teacher and teacher-trainer of English as a Foreign Language) and pleasure. I have just come back from Pakistan where I lived for 4 years. I love Greece and have lived there for more than 10 years although not all at one time.
This entry was posted in eating and drinking, Greece, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My favourite fish taverna near Corinth

  1. Pingback: My favourite fish taverna near Corinth | Writing and Travel

  2. Pingback: Cats, Dogs and Greeks | Writing and Travel

  3. Pingback: The Faris Hotel, Laconia, Greece | Writing and Travel

Leave a Reply

