Athens – my Favourite City

My friend Michelle suggested that I write some posts about Athens, which is my favourite city. I thought it was a good idea, so here is the first post.

Plaka -  Athens Credit Melissa Yasemin  Julian-Jones

Plaka – Athens Credit Melissa Yasemin Julian-Jones

My favourite area of Athens is Plaka, with its Neo Classical buildings and interesting archaeological sites that you come across when you least expect to find them. The Parthenon and the Acropolis is usually visible as you walk around this area. Most of it is pedestrianised, although this being Greece, people sometimes ignore the laws. Don’t ever assume that a bike or car is not behind you.

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Souvlaki_sandwich.jpg

Plaka – Athens Credit Melissa Yasemin Julian-Jones

The place is a tourist trap, with lots of traditional tavernas serving Greek food mainly. My favourite one is the Plaka Taverna on Kidathenaeion Street. ( This name means ‘the pride of Athens’ in English.) There are also souvlaki joints serving this cheap street food. A souvlaki is a pitta wrap stuffed with salad and your choice of meat. You could also have a gyros in one of these place – a doner kebab. For some reason, I prefer these to the souvlaki you buy to eat on the street.

If you go to a taverna and ask for a souvlaki you get what is called a souvlaki plate, which is usually lamb grilled on a skewer, which may be accompanied with pitta bread, salad and chips.

There are many flavours of ice cream to choose from, if you like it, and who doesn’t when it’s hot? Once you have a cone in your had, you could  venture down Adrianou Street and follow it until you (eventually) come to Monastiraki.This is a good place to visit on a Sunday when there is a flea market.

I never get tired of the streets in Athens – there is usually something interesting around every corner although sometimes you come across the more sordid side of Athenian life!

About lynnee8

I have travelled extensively both for business (I am a teacher and teacher-trainer of English as a Foreign Language) and pleasure. I have just come back from Pakistan where I lived for 4 years. I love Greece and have lived there for more than 10 years although not all at one time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Athens – my Favourite City

  1. Would love to visit Athens some day!!!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Goodbye 2016! | Writing and Travel

Leave a Reply

